Proofreading Services for Indie Authors

Proofreading Services - Lauren Mayhew AuthorAs a self-published author myself, I know how hard it is to proofread your own work. You’ll never find all of the typos, as you know exactly what the sentence is supposed to say, and your brain skips past the errors automatically. I think a certain degree of errors are expected in self-published works, because not all of us can afford to pay a high-end proofreader, or two, to look over our books. But, you should never hit the publish button without having at least one person read through it. 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not just self-published fiction that contaisn errors. I’m currently reading Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare, and I found an error – the opening speech marks to some dialogue were missing. With traditionally published books, errors like this should be few and far between, as multiple proofreaders are hired, and yet it still happens.

However, I’d like to offer a helping hand. I’ve recently set up some gigs on Fiverr (because it’s the easiest way to go freelance), offering my proofreading services. I am willing to proofread up to 100,000 words of a novel. There are four gigs in total, each varying in word length to split it up a little, and to make the pricing more equal. You can find my Fiverr profile here.

Proofreading Services for Indie Authors - Lauren Mayhew AuthorThere’s also a gig on there to help indie authors advertise their books on social media. I’ve created a series of backdrops in which your book cover can be Photoshopped into. Once the image is complete, it’s up to you to share it on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and so on. For only $5, I think it’s a bargain!

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

