Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare - Lauren Mayhew AuthorClockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare – 5 Stars

The Clockwork Angel is the first in the trilogy of ‘The Infernal Devices’. The first time I read this book must have been in 2010 after finding it in my local library, and I instantly fell in love with it. It’s now one of my favourite books ever. I’ve read it quite a few times, and it never lets me down. I only wish that I’d written this review after the first time of reading the book. It would be great to see what I thought of it back then!

Blurb: Magic is dangerous – but love is more dangerous still… When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray arrives in England during the reign of Queen Victoria, something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa seeks refuge with the Shadowhunters, a band of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. Drawn ever deeper into their world, she finds herself fascinated by – and torn between – two best friends and quickly realizes that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

What I like:  The story in general is a real page turner – shadowhunters are awesome! There are so many different sub-plots all leading into the main plot, and each of them grab your attention. More often than not, sub-plots are just there to add extra words, and have no relevance to the ultimate ending, but not with this series. Don’t get me wrong, Cassandra Clare is the queen of adding words for the sake of it, but in this series, she got it right!

Will Herondale will forever be my number one book boyfriend. Ok, he’s a bit of a bad boy, but he has a perfectly good reason for it. Even though you don’t find out what that reason is until the second book, ‘Clockwork Prince‘, he’s still a loveable character. Sarcasm and wit always win me over.

Jem is also a great character, though he’s not a bad boy. He’s more of a tortured soul that you can’t help but feel sympathetic towards. I love the way that Will and Jem interact. Whenever they’re together, you know it’s going to be a great scene.

Tessa is also quite sarcastic, though she can be a tad feeble at times. She’s a reader though, and that makes up for all of her downfalls. A girl that reads is always a bonus in any book for me.

The fact that I’ve read this book more than once, and will always come back to it if I’m in a reading slump, is proof that it’s a great one. Each time I read it, something new pops up that I’ve either forgotten, or never noticed the first time. I could talk about it forever.

What I don’t like: I’m struggling with this. There really isn’t a lot that I don’t like about this book. The only thing that comes to mind right now are the death’s at the end. I  know people have to die, Clare isn’t Stephanie Meyer, but not the one minor character that I loved.

If you’re a fan of everything mystical, mythical, and magical, this is the book for you. If you’ve read Cassandra Clare’s ‘The Mortal Instruments‘, and didn’t like it that much, don’t let that cloud your judgement. ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy is so much better!

(And just you wait for Magnus in the next few books!!!)

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

Save

Leave a Reply

