My NaNoWriMo Experience

NaNoWriMo Day 29 - Lauren Mayhew AuthorI’ve been MIA on this blog for quite a while. Life kind of took over, and even though I no longer work full time, I seem to have less spare time than I did before. I hope to be able to write more posts here in the future, but I can’t guarantee any regular postings. It literally depends on how interesting my life gets over the next few months.

My excuse for not posting anything in November, is that I’ve been participating in National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo for short. The aim of this challenge is to write 50,000 words in 30 days, that’s an average of 1667 words per day. I’ve struggled to write that many words this whole year, let alone one day. You can read more about NaNoWriMo here.I went into this challenge very pessimistically. Both of my published novels are around the 50,000 word mark, and they each took me around a year to write. Doing this in 30 days wasn’t just going to be exhausting, but mentally challenging too.

NaNoWriMo Winner's Certificate - Lauren Mayhew AuthorI can only write at night, there’s less noise and less distractions, so I can write more in less time. But 29 late nights in a row is tough, and I seriously can’t wait for an early night! I’ve got one more day to write tonight, and then the challenge is over. From the graphic above, you can see that I’ve already hit the word target (yay!), but I commited to 30 days of writing, so I will be writing tonight, though only for about an hour. And here’s my Winner’s certificate! I’m so happy I pushed through on the days when my brain said no, no writing today.

I haven’t finished the book yet, which is encouraging, as this may turn out to be the longest book I’ve ever written! Chapter six is completely missing, and I haven’t written the ending yet, so I’d hope there’s at least another 5,000 words to add, not including all of the edits I’ve already made in my head!

NaNoWriMo challenged me to write in a way I’ve never written before, and I think I’ll continue in this way from now on. I wrote everything straight into Microsoft Word. Normally, I write by hand and type everything up later. There was no way I’d have the time to do that with NaNoWriMo, and it’s helped me to write quicker which can only be a good thing. I’m going to start writing book 3 in the Liliana trilogy in the next few weeks, so here’s hoping I can complete it within a few months!

Speaking of Liliana, Book 1 -Reality is in a Dream – is currently free on Amazon Kindle for anyone who fancies a bargain book. You can find all links to both of my books here.

Here’s a little snippet of what I’ve been writing over the last month. To put it into context, Earth has been destroyed, and 3000 humans have settled on a new planet. Below is an extract of what happens when Bri and Skyler bump into one of Novus’ native creatures.

I’m still on the floor, so I barely have time to turn my head to look behind me before I feel a white hot pain across my face. Hot blood seeps from the wound caused by the beasts claws, and into my eyes and mouth. I try to blink the blood away, but it just keeps flowing out of my burning face.

Whatever this beast is, it’s on top of me. Each strand of its jet black fur is so thick it pierces my skin, and I feel it go straight through my cheek and into my mouth. My gums sting, as hundreds of tiny needles embed themselves in my soft flesh, causing even more blood to flow down my throat. I begin to cough, but it only makes my predicament worse, as this thing weighs a ton. My lungs are barely able to take in any air in due to its huge mass on top of my chest. I hear my ribs crack, as it places more of its weight on top of me.

My right arm is trapped between my chest and the enormous creature, but my left arm is free. I have a knife in my backpack, but that’s lying beneath me, and there’s no way I can reach it, so I do the only thing I can think of; I start hitting every part of the beast that I can get to, trying to do any sort of damage, but it’s no use. It’s mass is so large, I’m betting it can hardly feel what I’m doing.

It clamps its jaws down on my right leg, shattering the bones. I don’t need to see my leg to know that the skin is being stripped, and my blood being lapped up. It chews on my new boots, its teeth slicing through them like butter, my foot becoming a bloody mess intertwined with material.

The pain that I am experiencing is beyond anything I have ever felt before. I’m a human pin cushion with so many broken bones, it’ll be a miracle if I ever walk again. What am I saying? It’ll be a miracle if I make it out of here alive. I hope I pass out before it starts chewing on my head.

Skyler is shouting words that I don’t understand. I’m sure I hear my name every now and then, but the noise of blood pounding in my head drowns out almost everything else, except the noise of the beast. It grunts and growls so loudly, it’s almost deafening. It’s much like a lions roar, but there’s another noise mixed in too; a long deep reverberating note. I hope it’s not calling to friends.  

The floor beneath me is becoming damp with my own blood. What I can see of the world, that’s not tinged red, is beginning to fade. All sounds become muffled, and I have a ringing in my ears that grows louder and louder with each passing second. My vision is blurred to the point that the only thing I can see is a mess of orange and yellow.

The beast bites into my left thigh, and everything fades to black.

Save

Save

Save

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

