The Diamond of Darkhold – Jeanne DuPrau

The Diamond of Darkhold by Jeanne DuPrau

The Diamond of Darkhold – Jeanne DuPrau – 3.5 Stars

Blurb: It’s been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks.

Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground, they find an unusual book. Torn up and missing most of its pages, it alludes to a mysterious device from before the Disaster, which they believe is still in Ember.

Together, Lina and Doon must go back underground to retrieve what was lost and bring light to a dark world.

I’m really not sure what to write about this book. I didn’t hate it, hence the 3.5 stars, but I didn’t love it either. In the end, it all just got a little silly. I appreciate that Lina and Doon found the way out of Ember, but I refuse to believe that they were the only two citizens of Sparks who thought it may be beneficial to go back to there.

I also think DuPrau ran out of ideas. What are the chances of another set of tattered and torn instructions ending up in Lina and Doon’s hands?

The more I think about it, the more characters I realise were a bit pointless. I said in my last review of ‘The People of Sparks’ that I hoped Poppy would play a bigger part in this book. But no, she’s mentioned a handful of times and plays no part at all in developing the storyline or characters.

Caspar is the same. He introduced Maddy (who also seems slightly irrelevant), but the only thing I can see about him is that he showed Lina the rhyme about treasure. I’m sure another character could have told her this rhyme.

The book in general was a good idea and if people could develop a diamond that generates electricity like that, the world would be a better place! There were just too many predictable and seemingly irrelevant moments.

I still have the prequel to read, ‘The Prophet of Yonwood’, but I’ll leave it a while before I get on to that one. I’ve read the reviews on Goodreads and I’m not sure I can read another book where not much happens!

So instead I’ve started reading Harry Potter again. It’s been a few years since I read this series and I can honestly say I’ve missed it!

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “The Diamond of Darkhold – Jeanne DuPrau

  1. You know, there are countless fantasy books that I fail to finish, and they usually fall into one of two categories:

    1) The books that have such forgettable characters or such a predictable plot that I quickly decide I don’t care.
    2) A well-written series that just never seems to end, and I start to get the feeling that the author is just preying on my pocketbook. When a series goes much beyond a trilogy, I almost always stop caring.

    At any rate, I appreciate the review!

    Like

    1. I have only ever given up on one book, that I remember. Even if I hate what I’m reading, I’ll push through til the end.

      I agree with your two categories. There have been a few book series where you know the author is purely doing it for the money. Cassandra Clare springs to mind!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

