W – Will Herondale

Will Herondale - Lauren Mayhew A-Z Blog Challenge 2016A-Z Blog Challenge 2016 – Will Herondale

I absolutely know that I have written about Will Herondale somewhere else, I just can’t figure out where! I’m pretty sure it turned into a bit of an essay about why I love him so much… I wish I could find it. I’ve got a strange feeling it was on Tumblr, but there’s no chance I will ever find that again.

William Herondale is a Shadowhunter and one of the main characters in Cassandra Clare’s book series ‘The Infernal Devices’. Clare has written a lot of books about the Shadowhunters and I can honestly say this trilogy is the only one worth reading – please don’t shoot me! ‘The Mortal Instruments’ were good, but could have been chopped down into 3 or four books in my opinion.

I stumbled upon ‘Clockwork Angel’ on my usual weekly trips to my local library when I was about 17, I think. I saw the cover and thought, “yep that’ll do.” That was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I fell in love with the book, characters and world that Clare had created and could not wait to read on in the series. It’s definitely worth a read.

To begin with, Will is a cocky little shit, and yet he’s still loveable. He makes out like he is better than everyone and he can be very cold and distant to all but his friend Jem. The more you get to know about him though, the more of a sensitive side is revealed which makes it easier to relate to him.

I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll try to be as vague as possible. Will has been told that he is cursed and that everyone who loves him will die a horrible death. This is why he pushes everyone away. His friend Jem is already dying, so Will doesn’t need to act badly towards him, as his death is looming closer every day. Will is a tortured soul who lives in fear of love. That’s the worst sort of life.

I could take about Will for days, I’m not even joking. I have been meaning to re-read this trilogy for such a long time, but I haven’t got round to it yet – life has become way too busy. I will say this though, if you ever read these books and fall in love with Will in the way that I did (by the way, he’s mine, so hands off!!) don’t – I REPEAT DON’T – read the epilogue. It will destroy your soul. Back when I was writing ‘D – Dobby‘, I said something about crying while reading. After reading the epilogue to ‘Clockwork Princess’ I literally cried myself to sleep. Don’t do it to yourself. You have been warned!!

Save

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

2 thoughts on “W – Will Herondale

  1. Here’s one I haven’t read but I’ve put it on my list, mainly because of this favorite line from your review:

    “To begin with, Will is a cocky little shit, and yet he’s still lovable.”

    Anyone who can pull that off is quite a character and worthy of some study!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

