F – Finnick Odair

Finnick Odair - Lauren Mayhew A-Z Blog Challenge 2016A-Z Blog Challenge 2016 – Finnick Odair

Again, I’m basing my love for Finnick on the films, though I do remember absolutely loving him in the books, I just can’t completely remember them. I really need to read them again!

Even though I loved Finnick in the books, Sam Claflin really made the whole movie experience so much better. If my book was ever to be made into a movie, Sam Claflin would play Justin. He doesn’t have a choice in this.

Anyway, back to Finnick… I love his cheeky nature and his heart of gold. He’s devilishly handsome, something which President Snow exploits him for by leading him into a life of prostitution. It essentially de-humanises him and yet he still manages to protect and look after his one true love – Annie.

He has no choice but to do what Snow wants him to do because he knows that if Snow ever found out about Annie, she would be killed. He has to become an object for Snow to play with in order for his loved ones to live. Finnick has more reason than most to want Snow dead, and yet he takes a back seat and only joins the fight when he knows that Katniss needs him, even if she doesn’t know it herself. He’s the best sort of friend that anyone could have and I really wish I could find someone like Finnick in real life.

If you haven’t read Mockingjay or seen Mockingjay Part 2, then skip to the next paragraph – SPOILER ALERT! I can honestly say that only one other character’s death has made me physically sob as if someone I knew had died, you’ll find out about him on day ‘W’. I was absolutely devastated when Finnick died. It just seemed so unfair, but I suppose that’s war, isn’t it? Good people die in war every day.

Overall, Finnick is just a good person that bad things have happened to. He could have reacted in many more negative ways to what Snow was forcing upon him, but he stayed a good person. He’s a strong character and a definite role model.

Save

2 thoughts on “F – Finnick Odair

Leave a Reply

