D – Dobby the House-Elf

Dobby the House-Elf - Lauren Mayhew A-Z Blog Challenge 2016A-Z Blog Challenge 2016 – Dobby the House-Elf

I’m not sure I really need to explain why Dobby is one of my favourite characters, do I? But if I don’t explain, then this whole blog would be pointless.

From the moment I first ‘met’ Dobby he instantly became one of my favourite characters ever, so I’m sure you can imagine how I felt when his story ended in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

I’m not sure if it’s his squeaky voice or innocent nature that makes me love him so much. Or the fact that he’s blinded to the fact that his efforts to save Harry’s life usually ended up in endangering him even more. He’s just so cute!

The more I think about the character, Dobby, the more I think that he might be a metaphor for an abused and under-appreciated housewife. It’s his job to look after his family and yet, no matter what he does, it’s never good enough. Obviously, this doesn’t just apply to housewives, it applies to any man or woman who is in an abusive relationship.

Dobby just wants to be accepted and to be shown some appreciation for the work that he does, but all he gets is verbal and physical abuse. But, even though he has dealt with this his whole life, Dobby remains a good hearted house-elf. He’s not bitter or resentful. He has a golden soul.

I love how Dobby takes his new found freedom and shows his true colours, instead of shrinking into himself at the thought of the new world he is trying to create. He simply doesn’t care what others think of him, and who shouldn’t wear a tea cosy for a hat if they want to?

Putting together an outfit for Dobby wasn’t easy. He wears a grey pillow case the majority of the time… I used the most sack like dress I could find and accessorised with socks, ob-viosuly.

P.S. be prepared, this won’t be the last Harry Potter character in my blog challenge!

 

Save

Save

Save

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

2 thoughts on “D – Dobby the House-Elf

Leave a Reply

