C – Cogsworth

Cogsworth - Lauren Mayhew A-Z Blog Challenge 2016A-Z Blog Challenge 2016 – Cogsworth

This may seem a bit strange because Cogsworth is an enchanted clock… I just like his pompousness (is that a word?) and need to follow the rules to the letter. I can see myself in him – not the pompous bit though!

I have friends like Lumière, as in they bound into situations without thinking about the impact it may have and the consequences if it all goes wrong. I’m Cogsworth in those situations – desperately trying to talk sense into Lumière.

I guess Cogsworth has seen so much go wrong in the time that he has lived in the castle, that he’s a pessimist. He can’t imagine that the enchantment he is under is every going to break, so he sees the negatives in all situations. I suppose he doesn’t want to set himself up for more disappointment with the arrival of Belle.

I also love the relationship he has with the Beast. At times he’s like a councillor and best friend to him, and other times, he’s like a worker who is absolutely petrified of his boss. Well, wouldn’t you be? I love the professional/ friend balance that he has with the Beast.

I also adore his love hate relationship with Lumière. Everyone needs that one friend that they greatly dislike, but can’t live without. They’re like bickering school girls, and I love it!

I think Cogsworth is one of those characters that sinks into the background and gets forgotten about. I really want to watch Beauty and the Beast now!

The outfit above is obviously very loosely based on Cogsworth. It’s definitely something that I would wear though. You can find it on Polyvore by clicking the picture.

Oh! And who’s excited for the LIVE ACTION version next year!?! EEEEEK!

Save

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

4 thoughts on “C – Cogsworth

  1. I thought Cogsworth was a fantastic character. I love that scene between him and the Beast where the Beast is asking what he should give Belle, and Cogsworth answers, “There’s flowers, chocolates, promises you don’t intend to keep…” (or something along those lines)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

