B – Buffy Summers

Buffy Summers - Lauren Mayhew A-Z Blog Challenge 2016A-Z Blog Challenge 2016 – Buffy Summers

My dad was the one that introduced me to Buffy. Even though it is very cheesy, I can’t help but love it.

Buffy is one of those characters that gets thrown into a life changing situation that she has no control over. She is branded as the new slayer, the chosen girl who has to fight vampires, demons and general evil. It’s fair to say it’s not an easy job.

She struggles when she moves to Sunnydale, as she goes from being the popular girl in school to a bit of a weirdo. Everyone knows she is different, but she can’t tell anyone her secret – except for Willow and Xander, of course.

Some of her love interests did tend to get on my nerves a bit. Riley, what exactly was the point of him? Spike, on the other hand, made sense to me. She needed comfort during a difficult time in her life, and Spike was the only one who could truly understand what she was going through.

In the end, Buffy is an inspiring young woman. She knows that she has to fulfill her destiny, but she does what no slayer has done before – she has a close knit group of powerful friends to help her along the way. I think that’s what I take from Buffy, she could have been the most popular girl in Sunnydale, but she chose to keep a few unpopular friends. Those few ‘odd’ friends help her to become a stonger person. Without them, she would not have had the happy ending that she did.

I’ve created one of Buffy’s many amazing outfits above. I have to say, creating these outfits may be dangerous! I may be purchasing those shoes in the near future!

Save

10 thoughts on “B – Buffy Summers

  1. I didn’t realize how cheesy the show was when I was watching as a teenager. About a year ago I tried to watch it with my girlfriend who had never seen it and I was a bit embarrassed by how awful it was. I will always love the show but if you didn’t watch it when it first aired you might not get it now lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think she’s a good metaphor for growing up. Everything seems to big when you’re young, but it’s not until you’ve lived a little that you appreciate how easy you used to have it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

