Light – Michael Grant

LIGHT Michael Grant

Light – Michael Grant – 3.5/5 Stars

I don’t think I’ve ever been so disappointed with the ending of a book. I thought all the deaths of my favourite characters was leading up to this big fight at the end but all I got was disco lights.

Even Little Pete’s involvement annoyed me. The whole way through the book, the series even, Petey is made out to be all powerful and yet… nope. I get the feeling that the books were rushed and so major plot holes were just left there and not filled in or explained.

I was reluctant to read the last 100 pages of this book because I was so worried about being disappointed and.. well.. I was. It was very similar to the others in the fact that nothing really happened until the last quarter of the book and even the end fell a bit flat.

It has taken me about 5 months to read this series and although I don’t regret reading them because the story is so different to anything I’ve read before, I just cannot explain how much of an anti-climax it was. I’m left with more questions than I like.

There were more characters that just seemed pointless, Justin being one of them. Don’t get me wrong, I loved him because he was so sweet, but he added nothing to the story. Literally nothing.

And Drake! What the hell? Sam should have killed him in Lies. There was no reason and I mean no reason for him to live!

And seriously… what happened to Cookie, The Siren girl, the two kids living on the farm together? If a character is named and given a significant chunk of the story, you can’t just forget about them!

I was very happy that Edilio got his happy ending and Diana too! I’m not joking, if Edilio had died, Michael Grant would need to have eyes on the back of his head! I’d be coming after him with a spiked baseball bat!

Overall, the series was good. There was just a lot of unnecessary characters and a sloppy ending. I feel that it could have been condensed into a trilogy. Six books was just a bit too much!

The next few books I read won’t be part of a series. I think I need a few stand-alone’s for now! (Except for The Fate of Ten which comes out in 8 days!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

