Fear – Michael Grant

Fear by Michael Grant

Fear – Michael Grant – 4/5 Stars

This contains spoilers – don’t read if you don’t want to know what happens!

After how much I loved the previous book in the series, Plague, I was really excited about reading this one! Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad, it just kept the theme of books 1, 2 and 3 – it was really slow to begin.

It was quite suspenseful watching the preparations for when the barrier started to become dark. You could feel the despair, as Sam knew that he could do nothing to save the people at the lake and Lana and Quinn’s conversations in Perdido Beach seemed very real to me. It’s good to see some of these kids actually starting to take leading roles, even if it has happened in book 5 of 6…

Again, some characters were introduced that really didn’t need to be there. In this book I’m talking about Cigar. I think he may have been the most pointless character I have ever met in a book. In my opinion, Penny should have just killed him. Quinn would still have gone on strike, Penny would still have taken over and Albert would still have run away – I knew I had a bad feeling about that guy! Astrid was already seeing Little Pete in her peripheral vision. If she’s as smart as Grant keeps telling us she is, she would have figured out it was him without Cigar having to tell her. To me, it just looks like Grant wanted to call a character Cigar. There really was no reason for him to progress in the story the way that he did.

I’m really starting to love Orc. Also, I’ve just remembered Howard’s death. Surely they could have killed someone else? He was a main character, albeit a pain in the arse, but he just sort of got forgotten about.

Brianna is starting to get on my nerves now. How can anyone not care that Jack may not survive?!?

As I said before, Drake is just boring now. He should have died in Lies. He really isn’t offering much to the story. I’m sure the gaiaphage is capable of recruiting someone else. Perhaps someone could have turned traitor?

The ending i.e the last 30 pages, were good. It just took a long time to get anywhere. Typical that the moment the barrier becomes clear, Sam just happens to be incinerating an evil baby… This I find funny!

I am looking forward to reading Light though, especially now that the barrier has changed and there’s a half-melted child on the loose!

Leave a Reply

