How Do You Advertise?

Lauren Mayhew Author - Liliana TrilogyI’ve really been struggling to make sales for my book. I know it’s my first book and no-one knows who the hell I am, but I still would have expected a few more than… well… zero!

Here’s the link to my book: Amazon UKAmazon US Have I done something wrong with the listing?

The price of my book was relatively high, so I have changed that to the lowest that Amazon will allow an eBook to go and yet, even with Twitter and Facebook, I still can’t get people to click the link to my book.

I’ve tried Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads paid advertising and yet nothing seems to work.

I decided to opt in for Kindle Select which means that I can put my book up for free for 5 days in a 90 day period. This worked in the sense that I ‘sold’ 30+ copies of my book (which is a tiny amount when you think about it!) but I think most of those people were from a Facebook that I joined recently for YA authors. I’m not complaining, I’m flattered that they wanted to purchase my book, I just would have liked to see my efforts on Twitter make a difference.

I don’t have many followers on Twitter and even less on my Facebook page (click the links if you want to have a look). Most of my twitter followers are fellow authors who all seem to have had ‘Amazon Bestselling Books’.

On a different subject, is it only me that gets annoyed with automatic direct messages from people trying to sell their book/music to you. I’ll look for myself thanks… Forcing links on me is going to make me click them even less!

Back on subject… I’ve looked up websites that will list your book if it has a special promotion. The only problem with them is that your book needs a minimum of 5 reviews, which I don’t have. How can I get reviews if they won’t let me advertise with them? Catch 22 once again…

Do any of you have any tips on how to advertise my book? I’d love to know!

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

4 thoughts on “How Do You Advertise?

  1. Just a note to commiserate. My experience has been very similar to yours. Spreading the word about my book is *very* difficult. Free promotions haven’t proven to be very successful for me, nor have advertisements resulted in more than a handful of clicks and sales. I’ve heard that KDP Countdown Deals are more successful than the free promos. Unfortunately, I already used a few of my free days for this period, so I have to wait a few more weeks before I can try a Countdown. I’ve also been told that the thing that will sell your book more than anything else is a second book. So I’m working as hard as I can to finish the next book in my series (aiming to release in early September–it’s crunch time!) So, I guess what I’m really saying is let’s both keep trying our hardest and best wishes from a fellow writer!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I have also heard that about second books and I’m trying my hardest to get book 2 finished by the end of the year! I’ve also heard that putting a free promo on your second book is more likely to boost sales for book 1. It makes sense really, people don’t want to read book 2 before book 1! I think I’ll try the countdown next time too.. I think I was a bit hasty with my free promo and didn’t do enough research lol! Good luck with your book! Here’s hoping we’re both bestsellers by this time next year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi ,
    If you are interested in doing free books for a review. A lot of new authors do that and I can help you review the book. My blog as you can see focus mainly on reviews I also have an instagram with 6k followers + . Im also active on Goodreads Reviews. If you have a printed copy that can be shipped to me Ill be glad to do it.
    Hope it helps!

    Like

    1. Hello, I have tried contacting a few book bloggers and have been ignored, so it kinda put me off a little. The only problem is that I can’t send physical copies of my book. I don’t get free samples or anything like that, I have to buy them myself. I’d be happy to send a mobi. file to anyone who can read on a kindle though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

