Lies – Michael Grant

Lies

Lies – Michael Grant – 4/5 Stars

Just like the first two in the series, I found this quite slow to begin with. It’s almost as if the author only plans the last half of the book and then writes filler for the beginning. I still think it’s worthy of 4 stars though because it had me hooked.

Surprisingly, I really started to dislike Astrid. I’m not sure if it’s because I really love Sam and hate the fact that she bosses him around like she does, or if I really don’t like her smart-ass attitude. Towards the end of the book though, she does start to redeem herself slightly. Let’s just see what happens in the next one, eh?

Zil, as usual, was frustrating. He was so easily persuaded to do things that caused a lot of damage and death without even batting an eyelid. He’s so focused on his aims, he’s not realising how self-destructing his actions are. I’m still not sure if he’s a believable character and I don’t remember Sam or anyone saying what actually happened to him in the end…

I also found it quite predictable. Especially Brittney. It was obvious that she was going to come back. Michael Grant wouldn’t have put so much emphasis on her being buried in Hunger if she wasn’t going to play a significant part in the rest of the series. I also guessed how she was linked with Drake. I think it spoiled the ‘big reveal’ and so I didn’t find it that spectacular.

Nerezza was also quite obvious. And Little Pete’s involvement with his game station thing. Too many seeds are planted early on and so I figured it out.

I felt so sorry for Sam when he took off and disappeared. He’s trying so hard to be a good leader and yet he can’t help but have dark thoughts when people start turning against him. I liked the fact that his disappearance made everyone realise (even Albert – what’s going on with him by the way!?!) that they need him to be there making the decisions.

The majority of this review seems negative, but I just can’t give this book 3 stars. It’s definitely a 4. I’m so excited for the next book and I hope that Little Pete plays a bigger part!

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

