Hunger – Michael Grant

Hunger

Hunger – Michael Grant – 4/5 Stars

Like the first book in this series, it took a long time to get into it. The first half of the book was.. well, I can’t really remember most of it if I’m honest. Very slow in places. Also like the first one, some characters seemed to be quite insignificant. If you read this and come across Orsay, don’t get too excited. Don’t get me wrong, she does have some significance to the story line, but she is built up as a big character and then pretty much does nothing.

The second half of the book is a lot better. I could barely put it down! I became quite tense and it took a lot of will power not to skip to the end to find out who survived!

I never thought I would have said this, but I began to feel very sorry for Caine towards the end. I’m interested to see how his character develops in the later books.

Zil. I’m not sure if it’s his character who frustrated me or the storyline. I understand that they are all kids and they don’t necessarily look at the whole picture like an adult would, but would they really follow a person like Zil? All I know is I wouldn’t be upset if Edilio has to dig a hole for him…

This book could have been 5 stars had it grabbed my interest from the beginning. I am excited to begin reading the next books in the series though!

Leave a Reply

