Don’t be so hard on us!

I’ve seen a fair few people talking about mistakes in Indie books and how it has a negative impact on readers and the Indie author name. This really annoys me, especially when it comes from Indie authors themselves.

Not long after I published my first book, I realised that there were a few mistakes in it. Some were missing words, words spelled wrong and the occasional comma missing. To correct the mistakes I would have to pay £29 to revise my book and at the time, I didn’t really have the money to spare, so I left it as it was.

It was only a few months ago, when looking at a forum on Goodreads, that I saw people saying that mistakes in indie books were basically a sin! They were suggesting to employ a proofreader. I’m not sure who these Indie authors are, but they must have a lot of money to be able to afford this.

I am an indie author. I wrote my book. Read through it trying to find mistakes. Self-published it. Advertised it on my own.

It is very hard to proofread your own work, because your eyes skip past the mistakes. You know what it is supposed to say, so your brain fills in the gaps or makes the words look correct.

I asked my cousin to read through it before it was published and she pointed out a lot of mistakes. Even she managed to miss a few, which is fine. I missed them all!

What I am trying to say here, is that just because a book is published independently, doesn’t mean it HAS to be perfect. Nobody should judge you otherwise, if you fail to correct every typo.

I recently read this book by Neil Spring called ‘The Ghost Hunters’ and there were quite a few mistakes in there. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very good book! I just think that a book that was published by a publishing house, with an editor and proofreaders (multiple proofreaders!!) should have few if any mistakes! ’50 Shades of Grey’ was the same.

The Ghost Hunters
Seriously, it’s a good book! You should read it!

Why do these people in the forum think it’s a disaster if an indie author writes a book with mistakes, but a book that has been published the usual way can get away with it? Surely it should be the other way round?

I am going to correct the mistakes in my book very soon, because I now have the money to do so. I just think that people should give us Indie authors a break. Nobody is perfect and publishing a book all on your own is not an easy thing to do.

I challenge these criticizers to do it without a proofreader! I wonder how many mistakes they’ll make!

Leave a Reply

