Pen Pal

Do people still have pen pals? I used to send letters to people when I was younger and nothing excited me more than receiving one back!

I think the person I started sending letters to was my cousin Melissa. I’ve only met her a few times because we don’t live close to each other, but when we were younger we used to send letters. I don’t think I threw them away, but I wouldn’t be able to tell you where they are now!

Next, I met a family when on holiday in Cornwall. We sent letters and birthday cards to each other for years until we lost contact. I’m not sure why we stopped writing to each other or who forgot to write back first. Perhaps the price of stamps got too much…

After this, I had no-one to send the letters to, so my cousin Jemma and I started writing letters to each other. But instead of sending them through the post, we would keep them all in a sparkly golden envelope (I think) and give it to each other once we had written back. I think Jemma has it still, so I’ll ask her about it. It would be interesting to see what we used to say to each other!

Now we just text each other and meet up during the week when we can – there’s no need for letters.

I’d love to find a pen pal again, but where would I even start to look? I can’t just randomly start sending people letters. I’d probably get arrested.

I don’t know if I want to sign up to a pen pal website either. If you’ve read my blog Where can I find a Love Life?, you’ll understand my issue when loads of people start to talk to me!

Do you know where I can find a pen pal? I just love writing and prefer using pen and paper rather than a keyboard. It just feels more personal.

6 thoughts on “Pen Pal

    1. Thank you, I really appreciate that! At the moment I’m really busy with work and my writing, so I’m not sure I’d actually have the time. As soon as things have calmed down a bit I’ll definitely get back to you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

