Is it just me?

Lauren Mayhew Author - Liliana TrilogySo this morning I was thinking about all the reasons why I haven’t sent my book to any publishing houses. The main one – because I know that they won’t ever read what I’ve written. This may seem very pessimistic, but in my eyes it’s the truth.

I have seen so many people with publishing deals who’s books have made it big, but in my opinion they had it all set up for them. Some of them are married/ in relationships with celebrities, others are celebrities. I won’t name names, because some of the people that fall into this category actually have worked hard to achieve their success and I wish them all the luck for the future.

However, why should these people get it so easy?

Because the publishers know that people will buy their books even if it is a pile of rubbish. I mean, have you ever read one of Katie Price’s books? They were ghost written so it’s not the quality of writing that’s so terrible, it’s the storyline. If I had submitted a story like that to a publisher, they wouldn’t look twice at it and yet when a celebrity does, it’s perfection.

To me, it seems to be all about making money, not actually selling a book that’s going to enhance someone’s life. (< Cheesy, I know, but I can’t really put into words how books affect people’s lives.)

Even if I did want to send my book to publishers, it would have to be solicited. I’d have to pay someone, like an agent, to get my book published. The only problem is that I don’t have the money to do this in the first place. Catch 22 – to make money, you have to have money.

So, instead of spending money that I don’t have on a dream that’s extremely hard (but not impossible) to make a reality, I have self-published my book instead. The royalties for each book sale may not be great, but I have achieved my dream all by myself.

I don’t expect to be the UK’s number one best seller, nor do I think I’d want to be. It would be very overwhelming. I’m just happy that I’ve managed to achieve something that I’ve wanted since I was a child. I am now a published author.

If my book does sell well and become known by a lot of people, at least I can say that I have done this by myself, through hard work and determination; not because someone thought they would be able to make a bit of money by using me.

I’d love to know what you all think of what I’ve said. Please be aware though, that this is my opinion. Don’t send hate if you feel differently.

You can read the first chapter of my book here.

Until the next time,
Lauren x

Follow me on social media, to keep up to date with everything I do:

FacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

