My Year So Far

So… I’ve never really understood blogs and yet here I am writing my first ever blog post! Well, that’s not strictly true. I write the blog for work twice a week, so it’s my first ever blog post all about me! I want to give you some background detail about my life in the past few years and then tell you how this year has been the best year of my life!

As soon as I left college in June/ July 2011 I decided to have a few weeks off before I started to look for a job. This was probably my worst mistake. As soon as summer was over, every college leaver that wasn’t going to University was applying for jobs at the same time as me. I had brilliant GCSE and A Level results and yet no-one would employ me.

For the whole of 2012 I was unemployed. I was relying on family to pay for meals out and trips to the cinema, as I had a limited amount of money in my bank account. I don’t like borrowing money from anyone, so I stopped going out. I’d get out of bed at midday, eat lunch, watch hours of TV and go back to bed again at nine.

I stopped watching films, reading books, listening to music (except for The Wanted who basically kept me alive!) and writing. My family was getting quite worried about me, so I gave myself a massive talking to and started living again.

By the end of 2012, my head was in a better place and I had started going out again, though I still hated borrowing money. And, in January 2013 I found a job in a call centre. I won’t lie, I only stayed there for about 5 weeks. It was the worst place for me to work and I cried every morning with the thought of having to go there. The only good thing that came out of working there, was that I earned enough to learn to drive and I passed my test in August.

It wasn’t until November 2013 that I found my next job at Evans. It was only part-time hours, but I loved it. The people there were great and so easy to get along with and I never once dreaded going in. I knew I wouldn’t be there for long, I just needed to stay there for a few months to get some experience on my CV. It was at Evans that I started to write again. On the 28th November, I started writing ‘Reality is in a Dream‘.

In January, while I was at my auntie Jean’s house, a thought cam into my head. It was like someone had just whispered the words into my ear and I wasn’t going to ignore what they were telling me to do. They told me to look on the apprenticeship website. That’s when I found Dotty Fish.

I went for an interview a few days after I applied and was offered the job there and then. I work full time there and though the pay isn’t great, I have made some great friends and learnt a lot! Once my apprenticeship is completed, (only a few months to go) I will be staying there! I love it!

It’s during my lunch breaks there that I write. Everyone at Dotty Fish encourages me with my writing and that has just spurred me on further to complete my book. It’s been my dream to have a book published since I was little and now I have finally made it happen.Ā Reality is in a Dream

Reality is in a Dream‘ is now available to buy as a paperback version here and a Kindle version on Amazon here! With a lot of encouragement from friends and family, I have finally made my dreams come true. There was a time when I stopped believing that this was possible. Now I know that no-one else but you can make your dreams come true.

Next on my list: get a car! I’ve saved a fair bit of money, I just need to decide what I want!

I can now say that I am happy and stress free. Thank you to everyone who buys my book and takes the time to read it! I’d love to know what you think of it!

I can’t guarantee that I will write a post regularly every week, because in all honesty, my life isn’t that interesting! I’ll write as much as possible though!

Lauren

(P.S. I’m pretty sure my Goodreads widget is broken.. Does anyone know how to fix it? I have no idea!)

Leave a Reply

